Character Design : Face

Now that Ive got the feel for the armor and clothing of edo japan that my character might wear, I have started to draw some hairstyles and apply them to some faces that I sketched up. Ive always had a problem with drawing faces so to finally get one that looks okay and not completely misshapen and stupid is a miracle. The reason I find them so hard is getting the proportions and the positioning right as I always put the eyes to high or too low and I can never get the central point, so I tried a couple of different faces to start off with after doing the hairstyles and I got onto half a face that resembled the sort of look I wanted for my soldier, as it is expressionless and looks as if they are waiting for something to happen, the only problem is I couldnt really do both eyes so I had to spend alot of time trying to get the eyes to sit right with each other, in the end I just mirrored the eye and made it smaller because I just couldnt do it after about an hour of trying. Mirroring it looks fine but this might prove to be a problem later in designing the character so I need to develop the face and the expressions well so I can adapt them to the majority of facial positions on a body.

As always, click to enlarge.

Leave a comment